How to mute and unmute participants?

As the host, you can mute/unmute all new participants joining the meeting as well as those who are already in the meeting.

1. How can I mute all participants before they join my meeting?

For computer app:

Step 1. Sign in the ezTalks app on your computer, and go to the Settings page. You can refer to the screenshot below to find the Settings page:

Step 2. Go to the Meetings page and scroll down the page to the bottom, find the For Participants section, then select: Automatically mute participants on entry. 

If you do not want the participants to unmute themselves, you can select the second option: All Participants should be granted by the host before talking

If you enable both options above, the participants cannot unmute themselves. When they join your meeting, they can see the microphone icon is in grey:

If they need to talk, they can click on the microphone icon and apply to talk. You can go to the Participants list and see the raising hand icon as below. You can right click on the name and click Permit Speak.

If you want to mute all again during the meeting, you can right click on the participant again and click on the Mute All.

For Mobile app:

After you sign in the ezTalks app on your mobile, go to More-Audio and you can make the settings:

2. How can I mute participants during a meeting?

    Step 1 After you start a meeting and your participants join, you can find the participants list as below:

    Step 2 Right click on the participant name, you can see Permit Speak, which is to unmute this participants. You can also see the option of Mute All and Unmute All:

    If the participant is muted, there will be a slash on the microphone icon. If the microphone icon is blue, that means it is unmuted.

     

    Related articles: